Wanaka, New Zealand: The Short Goodbye

I had planned this long goodbye to Wanaka, cleverly hitting on points of interest around the town, making references to the weather, the friendly people, the outdoorsy atmosphere … buuutt I just can’t bring myself to do it. Not yet. If I say goodbye now then I’m admitting that I’m not coming back, when I am, in about 6 months. But even more than that, it’s not like I’m graduating high school, I have friends in Wanaka, I have the memories of a wonderful life. As long as those two things still exist there, Wanaka will always be there for me, to return to whenever I need to feel a part of that family. And, seeing as I’ll be back in August and probably again next February, there’s no need to rush into saying any tearful goodbyes.

So let’s give Wanaka a friendly wave and a ‘See Ya Later’ and get on with this thing. We’ve got a lot of ground to cover.

Leave a Reply

