I’m Going LOS For A Couple Weeks

Loss Of Signal, for you non-rocket scientists. I’m still back-filling the posts, trying to catch you up to my current location of Melbourne, but I may not be able to complete it prior to my trip to Tasmania in about 7 hours. And since I’ll be mostly camping around Tasmania, I’m not sure how many chances I’ll have to write while I’m there.

A coupld days ago, I was scouring Gumtree.com (a more international-friendly version of Craigslist) trying to find a ride to Adelaide and Perth when I came across a German who was going to drive to Tasmania (Tassie, as it’s affectionately known). And no, he didn’t have some kind of boat-car, he was planning on parking the stationwagon he had purchased on the ferry for the duration of the 11-hour ride. Unfortunately, the ticket across the water is $160, whereas a one-way flight works out to about $100. I’m flying out on Tuesday morning and meeting Steffen in Launceston. From there, he, I and two other people he met in Melbourne will be driving around the island, hiking, camping and lazing on the beaches.

After Tassie he was planning on heading west to Adelaide and Perth so I may have a ride there too! I can’t imagine the island is any better for wireless access, and I’m not sure how often we’ll stop for internet cafes, so you may not see another entry for about a couple weeks.

‘Course, I’ll have plenty to say when I get back. And I’ll hopefully have some pictures of one of those little devils.

One comment

Leave a Reply

